LIBRARY COUNCIL ANNUAL REPORT 2021-2022

Submitted: June 2022

Chair: Erin MacPherson

Faculty Unit: University Libraries, Dalhousie University

<u>Introduction</u>

This report summarizes the activities from September 2021 through June 2021 for Library Council. The Chair was: Erin MacPherson, Secretary: Leah Unicomb and Recording Secretary: Carol Richardson. Meetings were conducted virtually using Microsoft Teams. Approved agenda, minutes and accompanying reports are posted on DalSpace.

Membership table

Table 1. shows the membership as of June 2022. Quorum continues to be 50% +1 of the voting members. Quorum was achieved for all meetings except May 2022. The Terms of Reference remain the same, requiring no less than fifty-five percent of the voting membership to be academic librarians.

Table 1. Library Council Members 2021-2022

VOTING MEMBERS (38)		NON-VOTING MEMBERS (12)
DFA LIBRARIANS (25)	NSGEU & DPMG STAFF	SENIOR LEADERSHIP TEAM
Allison Fulford	Amanda Sparks	Anne Matthewman
Creighton Barrett	Carlina Gillis	Donna Bourne-Tyson
David Michels	Courtney Bayne	Elaine MacInnis
Dominic Silvio	Gail Fraser	Janice Slauenwhite
Erin MacPherson* (Chair)	Gina Coates	Marc Comeau
Geoff Brown	James Boxall	Marlo MacKay
Gwen MacNairn	Jan Pelley	Melissa Helwig
Hannah Steeves	Jason Flynn	Michael Moosberger*
Heather MacFadyen*	Joe Wickens	Michelle Paon
Jackie Phinney	Lachlan MacLeod	Sandy Dwyer
Joyline Makani	Leah Unicomb	Sarah Stevenson
Julie Marcoux	Mick Bottom	
Karen Smith	Sai Chua	
Kirsten Huhn		
Linda Bedwell*		
Linda Clark		
Lindsay McNiff		University Librarian for
Louise Gillis		University of King's College:
Mark Lewis		Tracy Lenfesty
Melissa Rothfus		
Robin Parker		Chair of Senate Ex-Officio (per
Roger Gillis*		May 27, 2021 meeting)
Samantha Adema		Dr. Louise Spiteri
Sarah Jane Dooley		
Shelley McKibbon		

*indicates that are member was on leave or retired sometime during the 2021-2022 term. In addition, the Chair shall not vote on motions before Council except in the event of a tie (per the Terms of Reference).

Business of Council and Presentations

Council continued to meet virtually via Microsoft Teams. The on-going nature of the pandemic, periodic shift to remote work and ease of access made it an obvious choice to continue with virtual meetings. Meetings are recorded for the purposes of minute taking, and this year the recording statement is read before each meeting and provided on the agenda. Senior Leadership reports were changed from just providing written reports & Q&A, to a "lightening update", where members of the Senior Leadership Team could provide a brief update /1-2 highlights and be available for questions.

Council provided input on several new DFA librarian positions, including: Research Data Management & Pharmacy Librarian, Metadata Librarian and Copyright Librarian. Council also provided input on the staffing of the Resources Unit, specifically due to the two retirements of a Manager and Librarian position. In addition, Council also elected a member to represent Council on the Dean of Libraries appointment committee.

It has become apparent that there is a need for faculty-level guidelines and procedures, similar to other Faculty such as the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences and Faculty of Science. A motion was created to strike a working group to examine examples and develop procedural governance documents for the Dalhousie Libraries. The group has formed, a Terms of Reference approved. Work has begun and the committee will continue its work in to the 2022-2023 year.

The following presentations took place during the 2021-2022 term:

- Web Renewal Project (Marlo MacKay and Christina Cheung)
- Digital Strategy Implementation (Donna Bourne-Tyson)
- Using Microsoft Teams (Courtney Bayne)
- Campus Be Well Initiative (Dr. David Pilon and Dr. Raghav Sampangi)

The following motions (aside from routine business motions) were considered by Council:

- To strike a working group to examine examples and develop procedural governance documents for the Dalhousie Libraries. R. Parker/ K. Huhn Carried.
- To approve the LIPCC Draft Revised Terms of Reference. C. Bayne / J. Phinney, Carried.
- To put succession planning for the Resources Unit on the agenda for the next Library Council meeting to discuss the retirements that are forthcoming. R. Parker/J. Phinney. Carried.
- To approve the adoption of the draft Library Council Faculty Procedures and Governance Working Group Terms of Reference. K. Huhn / M. Rothfus, Carried.
- To change section 4.7 of the Term of Reference of Library Council so that the Secretary can be a non-voting member and remove the term limit. R. Parker/ S. McKibbon. There was an amendment to the motion: Change section 4.8.4. of the Term of Reference to "On behalf of the Chair, the Secretary may distribute documents pertaining to urgent matters arising at short notice electronically prior to noon of the day proceeding the session.

 As Council did not have quorum at the time of this motion, a vote could not be held. The Chair will investigate having an electronic vote on the motion. If needed, these items will be revisited at the September Library Council meeting.

The incoming Chair and Secretary for 2021-2022 is to be elected.

Respectfully submitted,

Erin MacPherson