## LIBRARY COUNCIL ANNUAL REPORT 2020-2021

Submitted: 25 October 2021

Chair: Sarah E. Stevenson

Faculty Unit: University Libraries, Dalhousie University

## <u>Introduction</u>

This Library Council Annual Report summarizes activities from September 2020 through June 2021. Sarah Stevenson served as Chair, Leah Unicomb as Secretary and Carol Richardson as Recording Secretary. All Library Council business was conducted via Microsoft Teams. Special thanks go to Carol Richardson for ensuring that meeting invitations were accurate for members and guests and providing in-meeting support for documents and presentations.

## Membership table

Included below is the membership as it stood in June of 2021; the voting status of members is indicated in this chart. Quorum continued to be 50% +1 of the voting members and quorum was achieved for all meetings in 2020-2021.

Library Council 2020-2021			
Voting Members (38)		Non Voting Members (12)	
DFA Librarians (26)	DPMG & NSGEU Staff (12)	Senior Leadership Team	
Allison Fulford	Amanda Sparks	Ann Barrett	
Creighton Barrett	Courtney Bayne	Anne Matthewman	
David Michels	Gail Fraser	Donna Bourne-Tyson	
Dominic Silvio	Helen Wojcik**	Elaine MacInnis	
Erin MacPherson	James Boxall	Janice Slauenwhite	
Geoff Brown*	Jan Pelley	Marc Comeau	
Gwen MacNairn	Jason Flynn	Marlo MacKay	
Hannah Steeves	Kellie Hawley	Michael Moosberger	
Heather MacFadyen	Lachlan MacLeod	Michelle Paon	
Jackie Phinney	Leah Unicomb	Sandy Dwyer	
Joyline Makani	Mick Bottom	Sarah Stevenson	
Julie Marcoux*	Sai Chua		
Karen Smith		University of King's College	
Kirsten Huhn		Janet Hathaway	
Linda Bedwell			
Linda Clark			
Lindsay McNiff* Deborah Hemming			
Mark Lewis			
Louise Gillis			
Melissa Helwig			
Melissa Rothfus			
Robin Parker*			
Roger Gillis			
Samantha Adema			

Sarah Jane Dooley	
Shelley McKibbon	

<sup>\*</sup>Voting members on leave sometime during 2020-2021 term

## **Business of Council and Presentations**

As a result of the ongoing pandemic Council continued to meet virtually on MS Teams this year. Minor changes were made to the meeting structure with members of council taking turns giving the land acknowledgement at the beginning of the meeting. The intent of this was to encourage all members to consider what we say in the acknowledgement "we are all treaty people". This year, round table reports from the membership were spread out through the year with each member giving updates once a term, allowing more time for other matters of Council business and focussed highlights from the membership.

The other matters of Council business included regular updates with respect to the University and Libraries' response to the Covid-19 pandemic and updates on our streaming video services which were made necessary by remote teaching. Council also discussed succession planning for the Libraries in light of several planned retirements from the Senior Leadership Team in the 2021-2023 time period. Council also gave input for the position of a Research Data Management/Pharmacy librarian to fill the DFA library vacancy that resulted from the appointment of Melissa Helwig as AD Scholarly Communication/Head of Kellogg Health Sciences Library. Council also considered the election of a Libraries' Senator as Jackie Phinney had reached the end of her term and did not wish to be reappointed. Other notable items for discussion included the campus-wide Open Access Committee and Intern/Practicum opportunities in partnership with the School of Information Management.

The following presentations took place during the 2020-2021 term:

- Virtual Proctoring (Marc Comeau)
- Video Migration Project from Libcasts platform to YouTube (Jackie Phinney, Deborah Hemming)
- Digital Strategy (Donna Bourne-Tyson)
- Research Commons initiative (Ann Barrett, Gwen MacNairn)
- Microsoft Bookings presentation How to integrate this into guides/signature files. (Julie Marcoux)
- Dal.ca Renewal with the Dal.ca Renewal TEam
- Succession planning (Donna Bourne-Tyson)
- Special Leave research presentations by Geoff Brown (April), Creighton Barrett (June)
- Budget update (Donna Bourne-Tyson/Janice Slauenwhite)
- Insync data from Under-represented student groups Linda Bedwell

The following motions (in addition to routine business motions of meetings) were considered by Council:

That a Library Council Committee be created on Planning and Succession planning. This group shall be a regular report to Library Council and is directed to engage in wide-ranging consultations, and its structure to be voted on by Library Council. R. Gillis / D. Michels Carried

<sup>\*\*</sup> Voting member retired during Winter semester 2021.

To accept the changes to the Terms of Reference for Library Council with the applied cleanup of the document title for the Election Procedures for Library Senator. L. MacLeod / S. McKibbon Carried

To approve the updates to SRMG (Scholarly Resource Management Group) terms of reference to reflect current organizational structure and add biennal review of the gift policy. SJ Dooley/K Huhn Carried

The incoming Chair for 2021-2022 is Erin MacPherson. Leah Unicomb continues as Secretary and Carol Richardson continues as Recording Secretary.

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah Stevenson